Public Relations and Fashion

 

 

eau de parfum.png

I decided to talk about fashion PR for my blog post this week! I was inspired by April Auger the founder of local non-profit All Awear (http://allawear.com/).  April started he career in Public Relations, specifically in the fashion sector. She loved fashion but had a lot of concerns about the industry. With fast fashion taking on more speed than ever, consumers are drawn to the price tags of items, but don’t really ask how it was made to have that low of a price.

That’s where All Awear comes in. April’s non-profit strives to educate and enlighten those who are interested in asking those questions. She knows people are busy and don’t have the time to research where there shirt was made, how much the labor costs were, and what fabric and dyes it is made from. She provides information on brands and clothing items she has already researched, to make it easier for others to buy ethically. To learn more about her and her work as a solo non-profit entity please check out her on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/allawear/) and Instagram (@all_awear)

April combined her love of fashion, public relations, and philanthropy to create a job tailored to her wants and needs. When I graduate I want to be able to combine what I love to make something special for me. Writing these blogs helps me to explore the possibilities I hadn’t even considered. I am always shocked to find articles on these very niche style careers, but it gives me hope that I could be a part of one someday!

When researching fashion in the Public relations industry I was shocked to see so much information. There are entire firms who do work SOLELY in the fashion industry. I just find this so special and interesting. When I think of a firm I think of many random businesses as their clients. Tailoring to one industry really could give a competitive edge, as seen with fashion PR firm Michele Marie PR (http://michele mariepr.com/). This firm has a lofty amount of clients ranging from Banana Republic to Coca-Cola Brand clothing. They pride themselves on having a fresh bi-coastal outlook to create editorial, press driven content in the fashion industry.

If you are a newbie to the world of fashion PR I would highly suggest checking out PR Couture (http://www.prcouture.com/). It is described as a vital resource for anyone entering this niche industry. They post job listings, how-to advices, and keep you up-to-date on PR fashion culture. Here is one of their pieces giving the 411 on what publicists do in the fashion industry. (http://www.prcouture.com/2010/04/fashion-101-so-what-do-fashion-publicists-do/)

Leave a comment